Sunday, 13 August 2017

The House by Simon Lelic Book Review

The House: The brilliantly tense and terrifying thriller with a shocking twist - whose story do you believe? by [Lelic, Simon]

BLURB

The hear-stopping thriller about a husband and wife who are hiding something from each other, and from you...This book won't let you go until you've found out the truth. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Gillian Flynn and Fiona Barton.

Whose story do YOU believe? 

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year go. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discover in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. And now the police are watching them.

THIS STORY IS THEIR CHANCE...

TO PROVE THEY'RE INNOCENT.

OR TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER.


MY THOUGHTS

Wow, what an incredible psychological thriller. The House by Simon Lelic surpassed all my expectations. This book is definitely one for you to put on your reading list.

This book is told from two perspectives: Sydney and Jack, a couple who have just moved into their dream home, well Sydney's dream home. Sydney hopes that this will be their chance to settle down together and she expresses hope that this will be their 'forever house.'

What I really liked about this book is the unique way in which the story was told. The story is narrated through Sydney and Jack's thoughts and it is written in diary format. There isn't a lot of dialogue used in the book but I thought this worked really well, Simon's writing was utterly gripping and he gave both Sydney and Jack really unique voices.

Not long after signing the paperwork and moving into their new home, Jack makes a grisly discovery in the attic which he tries to shield Sydney from. From this point on, events begin to spiral out of control and when Sydney makes friends with a girl next door called Elsie the novel really does take a darker turn. Simon pulls some excellent twists out of the bag with this one.

This is one of the best psychological thrillers that I have read. I highly recommend that everyone picks it up and reads it. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy to read.


Publisher: Penguin

Publication date: 18th August 2017

Print length: 342 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE 

No comments:

Post a comment