Friday, 21 April 2017

Gone Without a Trace Book Review by Mary Torjussen


GONE WITHOUT A TRACE is a compulsive thriller about a woman who returns from work to find her boyfriend has vanished. Fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE SISTER will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely...

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn't been at work for weeks.
It's as if he never existed.

But that's not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him someone is also watching you.


Gone Without a Trace is a debut novel by Mary Torjussen. It is a psychological thriller with twists and turns that will keep you enthralled and on the edge of your seat. I was hooked.

When Hannah returns home from work she finds that her boyfriend, Matt, has disappeared, taking with him every item belonging to him and all the memories they shared together. It is as if he never existed at all. What follows for Hannah is a tense quest for answers as to why her boyfriend has left her like this. Has he done it deliberately? Or is there another reason behind his disappearance?

I really enjoyed this novel. Mary hooks her readers from the first page and doesn’t let them go until they reach the end. There is plenty of drama going on in this book to keep you entertained. As Hannah strives to find answers behind her boyfriend’s disappearance her own life begins to fall apart and her work, as a result, begins to suffer.

There was a twist in this book that really took me by surprise and it made me think: ah, yes, why didn’t I see this coming. Mary plays with a lot of emotions in this book, especially when Hannah’s life begins to break down over her boyfriend’s disappearance. It’s really difficult to talk too much about the plot without giving the story away, there were definitely times when the book kept me reading well into the night.

This is a great debut from an exciting new talent. I can’t wait to see what Mary does next. 

Publisher: Headline

Publication date: 23rd March 2017

Print length: 352 pages

No comments:

Post a Comment