Tuesday, 29 August 2017

My Husband's Wife by Jane Corry Book Review



BLURB

FIRST COMES LOVE. THEN COMES MARRIAGE. THEN COMES MURDER.

What if your life was built on a lie?

When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind.

But when she takes on her first criminal case, she starts to find herself strangely drawn to her client. A man who's accused of murder. A man she will soon be willing to risk everything for.

But is he really innocent?

And who is she to judge?

MY HUSBAND'S WIFE is a thriller with so many twists you won't be able to put it down, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Clare Mackintosh and C. L. Taylor.


MY THOUGHTS 


My Husband’s Wife is the debut novel by Jane Corry. I’ve been wanting to get around to this book for a while and I was so pleased when I finally started reading it, I’m now keen to read her second book, Blood Sisters. Set across two timelines and from the viewpoint of two characters, it is a tense, fast paced read that’ll keep you turning the pages. Jane Corry is an author who I’ll definitely be watching out for.
The first half of the book is set in 2001. Lily and her husband, Ed are newlyweds and have just spent their first year together as a married couple. Lily works as a lawyer and has just been handed a case which may well be the breakthrough case of her career. She has to decide if the man, who wants her to represent him, is innocent and if she will take him on. Can she trust him? And why does Lily suddenly begin to grow attached to this man?
Meanwhile, we meet Carla, a young Italian girl who lives with her mother in the next door apartment to Lily and Ed. Carla is looked after by Lily and Ed every weekend and soon a strong friendship begins to grow between them and Ed, a budding artist, begins to paint her every time she is there, which Ed almost becomes obsessive about. Fast forward fifteen years and Carla, now in her early twenties, is travelling to London to study law, she is also keen to meet up with her old friends. Ed has had huge success from one of his paintings, a picture of Carla from when she was a young girl and Carla feels that she should be entitled to some of his success as well. But what follows are a series of dramatic events, one of which will end in bloodshed.
There were so many intriguing characters in this book. Ed and Lily fascinated me from the beginning, Jane adds a lot of tension in their relationship and she kept me on my toes as I tried to guess what was going to happen to them next. I never expected the road which Jane took us down in the second half of the book, it was an excellent twist. In the first half of the book we also meet a character called Larry who is seeing Carla’s mother. I enjoyed trying to work out what his role in the story was; I found him to be one of the more mysterious characters.
When we move fifteen years later, Jane really does take us on a whirl wind of a ride. There were so many surprises in the second half of the book; I couldn’t stop reading until I had put it down.
A gripping debut from Jane Corry, a talented writer who is one to watch. I can’t wait to read her next book.
Publisher: Penguin
Publication date: 25th August 2016
Print length: 544 pages

2 comments:

  1. Sounds great! Have added to my tbr list!

    X

    www.turadh.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You'll really enjoy it, it was a terrific read.

      Delete