Sunday, 6 August 2017

The Girls in the Water by Victoria Jenkins Blog Tour



I'm thrilled to be taking part in The Girls in the Water blog tour today, the first book in an exciting new crime series.

BLURB

Two gone. One whose past could kill her.

When the body of Lola Evans is found in a local park on a cold winter's morning, Detective Alex King and her new recruit Chloe Lane are called in to lead the hunt for the killer.

Days later, a second girl goes missing. It seems the two shared a troubled history, and were members of the same support group. Who is the monster preying on these vulnerable girls?

As the detectives start to piece together the clues, Chloe realises that she too is in danger - as she uncovers secrets about her own brother's death which someone will kill to keep hidden.

Alex and Chloe are soon fighting for their lives, and in a race against time to reach the next victim before it's too late...

Chilling and totally compelling with an utterly suprising twist, The Girls in the Water is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Sarah Hilary and Patricia Gibney. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Victoria Jenkins

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband in South Wales, where she writes crime fiction and teaches English. The Girls in the Water is her debut novel, the first featuring Detective Inspector Alex King and Detective Constable Chloe Lane. The second book in the series will be published in late 2017.

twitter @vicwritescrime


MY THOUGHTS

The Girls in the Water is the first book in an exciting new crime series by Victoria Jenkins featuring DI Alex King and DC Chloe Lane. The novel is fast paced and will keep you gripped to the edge of your seat. It won't take you long to finish this one.

When the body of a young woman is pulled out of the water at a local park, DI Alex King fears that they may be facing a new serial killer. Her worst fears are confirmed when another body is found, the second woman has been killed in similar circumstances and the team now know that they have a new, twisted killer at large who they must stop before the killer kills again.

The Girls in the Water is a promising start to this new series. I loved Victoria's characters, Alex and Chloe. Chloe comes from a tragic past and she is trying, with the help of Alex to find out the truth of what happened to her brother several years earlier who died after his girlfriend was suspected of committing suicide. Chloe's backstory for me was the main pull of the story, I wanted to find out more about her and I really felt that I got to know her character well as I was reading the book, perhaps a little more than Alex, but with the promise of more books to come I'm sure we'll get to know a lot more about her.

There were plenty of surprising twists and turns throughout the book, a couple of the twists I did manage to guess but that didn't spoil the story for me. The ending was really tense and Victoria's writing made sure I continued reading until I had turned the final page.

I'm interested to see where Victoria takes us next with Alex and Chloe; this was a really good debut with great characters that will keep you hooked. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Thank you to Bookouture and Netgally for providing me with a copy of the book to read and to Kim for asking me to take part in the blog tour.

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication date: 1st August 2017

Print length: 352 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE


FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR 

No comments:

Post a Comment