Saturday, 25 March 2017

Sometimes I Lie Blog Tour & Giveaway

Today I'm thrilled to be taking part in the Sometimes I Lie blog tour and thanks to HQ I have three paperback copies of the book to giveaway. To win please check out my Twitter page.


Alice Feeney is a writer and journalist. She spent 16 years at the BBC, where she worked as a Reporter, News Editor, Arts and Entertainment Producer and One O'clock News Producer.

Alice is a Faber Academy graduate from the class of 2016. She has lived in London and Sydney and has now settled in the Surrey countryside, where she lives with her husband and dog,

Sometimes I Lie is her debut thriller and is being published around the world in 2017.


My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I'm in a coma

2. My husband doesn't love me any more

3. Sometimes I Lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow. 


From the beginning of this novel we know that our character lies and she confesses without hesitation. But what does she lie about?

Sometimes I Lie is Alice Feeney’s debut novel. Amber Reynolds is in a coma; her memories of what happened the night she ended up in this position are sketchy. She is beset by strange dreams as she tries to piece together what she knows and make sense of everything that is happening around her.

I have read a couple of novels recently in which the main character is in a coma and is experiencing what we know as ‘locked in syndrome.’ That is they can hear everything and communicate with themselves inside their mind but they can’t reach out to anyone on the outside, they are imprisoned within their body. It is a fantastic tool for writers to use. The character is trying to unravel events as the reader is trying to do and they are learning new things that they might have forgotten about themselves all the time.

I loved Alice’s writing and Amber’s voice. We learn that she is married to Paul, but their relationship has hit a rocky point and she has a sister called Claire. Amber works for a programme called Coffee Morning but she hasn’t got a very good working relationship with her boss, Madeleine, and she has been given until Christmas to sort things out between them or one of them will have to go.

So what happened to Amber? Why is she in a coma?

Alice has created some really intriguing characters in her novel, as the reader I had no problem engaging in the story, Alice’s writing is really addictive. She delivers some startling twists that will leave you gasping. Her writing is taut and full of suspense; Alice knows how to keep her readers on tenterhooks, every time I picked it up to read I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next.

Sometimes I Lie is one of 2017’s hotly anticipated thrillers. I’m sure this book will be a top bestseller, I highly recommend it. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a copy to review. 

Publisher: HQ

Publication date: 23rd March 2017

Print length: 384 pages


No comments:

Post a Comment