Friday, 24 March 2017

Close To Me by Amanda Reynolds Book Review


She can't remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way. 

Dramatic psychological suspense for fans of Lian Moriarty's The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed.

When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia - she's lost a whole year of memories.

A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?

She can't remember what she did - or what happened the night she fell.

But she's beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.


Close To Me is a gripping new psychological thriller from debut author, Amanda Reynolds.

The novel begins when Jo Harding wakes up in hospital after having a fall at home which has caused her to have some memory loss. Jo has lost a whole year of her life which she is now desperately trying to piece back together. Her husband, Rob, is desperate for it to remain that way and when Jo begins to realize that he is keeping things back from her she begins to wonder what sort of man he really is. The gripping pitch: she can’t remember why she’s afraid of her husband.

The characters and story line in this book were really well developed and I felt like I got to know every single one of them. There is a lot of drama going on in Jo’s family which her husband is trying to keep secret from her. This makes it really dramatic when she finds out what has been going on in the past year of her life. Before Jo has the fall, she starts to volunteer at a drop in center and becomes friendly with Rose who helps to run it. I thought this was a great idea and when Jo is trying to piece together what has happened in the past year it adds a lot of dramatic tension too. Rose was an interesting character although there were times when I found her a little annoying and a little bit pushy when it came to her friendship with Jo.

Amanda knows how to hook her reads and each new chapter kept me turning the pages as I learnt more about the year Jo has lost. The pace in the novel was great. The dark question which hangs over Jo drives the plot forward: did she fall, or was she pushed? What is her husband capable of?

A really enjoyable read, Amanda Reynolds is an exciting new name in the world of thrillers and I’m looking forward to see what she does next. I’m sure that Close To Me will be a big hit. 

Publisher: Wildfire

Publication date: 31st March 2017 (Kindle) 27th July 2017 (paperback)

Print length: 384 pages

No comments:

Post a Comment