Saturday, 18 February 2017

Those Who Lie by Diane Jeffrey Book Review

Those Who Lie: the gripping new thriller you won't be able to stop talking about by [Jeffrey, Diane]


Emily Klein doesn’t know she has killed her husband until the day of his funeral.

At first, signs point to a tragic accident. Yet, as Emily pieces together the events before his death – events which led to her own memory loss – she begins to suspect that her husband’s death may have been the result of more than a terrible twist of fate…
But the accident is only the beginning. Because while Emily’s physical scars will heal, the trauma of the accident has awakened old ghosts. She hears strange sounds, catches things that can’t possibly be there in the corner of her eye. Before long, everywhere she looks, she seems to see her husband.
And suddenly, Emily finds herself asking the most dangerous question of all.
Can she really trust herself?
Reviewers love Those Who Lie:
‘This is a must read for anyone who lives to delve into psychological thrillers!’ – Linda Strong, Netgalley
‘With brilliant main characters and a wonderful plot, this book is a real page turner. I would highly recommend this book.’ – Stephanie Collins, Netgalley
‘I absolutely adored this book’ – Lu Dex, Netgalley
‘Great book.. keeps you guessing!! If you love twists and turns then this book if for you!’ – Diane Merrit, Netgalley
‘With twists and turns that will wrong-foot you all the way, a dash of dark humour and a strong emotional punch, this is an excellent debut that more than earns its place within the genre.’ – S.J.I. Holliday, author of Black Wood
Don’t forget to leave a review and tell us what you thought!


Diane Jeffrey’s debut, Those Who Lie, is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton’s The Widow, a tense story that will have you gripped right up until the final page. 

I was excited to read this book after spotting it on social media and I was lucky enough to win a copy on publication day thanks to the publisher. I wasn’t disappointed.

In Those Who Lie, Emily Klein’s husband has been killed in a car accident. She awakes in hospital to find two policemen seated beside her bed intent on questioning her. They are convinced that Emily isn’t telling them all that she knows about the car accident. 

Emily has had to rebuild her life on the shattered remains of a childhood she has long since tried to forget. The story is told over two time periods, in 2014/2015 when Emily is coming to terms with her husband’s death and in 1995 when we learn of the true horrors she faced when she was a young girl. In the present day, Emily has started to receive messages on Facebook from her late husband, Greg’s account. She begins to think of the possibility that he might still be alive and is trying to get a message to her. The timelines were managed really well and I didn’t find myself getting lost or confused as this can sometimes happen when a novel is told over dual time periods.

Emily is a complicated character, it is clear that she is still suffering from the trauma that she faced when she was a child, and when events start to spiral out of control she finds herself making rash decisions, some of the decisions she makes, for me, didn’t paint her in a very good light and at times I found it difficult to like her. But by the end of the novel I really felt that I understood her.

I did find it a little unusual at the start of the novel, for the police to be sitting beside Emily’s bed waiting for her to wake up. I would have thought that the doctors would have kept them outside and made sure that Emily was well enough to talk to them. I didn’t like one of the detectives, who seems to dislike Emily right from the start. The detectives were great tool to use for suspense as I kept wondering when was the moment going to come when they would make their move or when they were going to announce that they had found something. I really liked the ending and I thought that Diane pulled it off in a really neat and satisfying way. 

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel. I’m interested to see what Diane will do next! Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a copy to read.

Publisher: HQ Digital 

Publication date: 27th January 2017

Print length: 233 pages

No comments:

Post a Comment