Wednesday, 15 February 2017

Perfect Remains by Helen Fields Book Review


The first in a nail-shredding new crime series. Fans of M.J. Arlidge and Mo Hayder will be gripped from start to finish. 

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness…

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care. 

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined. 

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.


In Perfect Remains, Helen Fields has exploded onto the crime fiction field, in her first, gripping, and totally addictive crime novel.

In Perfect Remains we are introduced to DI Callanach who is half French, half Scottish. He sparks curiosity amongst his new team in Edinburgh when he transfers there from Interpol. There is some animosity in his new team, a few feel that someone from within the team should have been given the role as inspector whereas others embrace the change and welcome him, particularly DI Ava Turner. But DI Callanach knows he will have to do a lot to impress his new colleagues if he wants to win their approval and he is trying to hide a past that he wants to stay buried.

The villain in this novel is really creepy; Helen has thought of some ingenious ways in which he disposes his victims, there are some quite violent scenes in the book, perfect if you love gritty crime fiction.

Helen’s writing is gripping from the start and it didn’t take me long to finish the book. Helen does a great job with building suspense as she brings the book towards its climatic conclusion.

I really enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series, I’m hoping that there’ll be many more books featuring Callanach and Ava.  

Publisher: Avon

Publication date: 26th January 2017

Print length: 416 pages

No comments:

Post a Comment