Sunday, 9 July 2017

Good as Gone by Amy Gentry Book Review


Eight years ago, thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night.

In the years since, her family have papered over the cracks of their grief - while hoping against hope that Julie is still alive.

And then, one night, the doorbell rings.

Gripping, shocking, and deviously clever, Good as Gone is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins - and will keep readers guessing until the final page.


Good as Gone is the debut novel by Amy Gentry. It is a fast paced novel which will grab you by the throat and you won’t want to put it down until you have finished it.

The book opens with a shocking scene which pulls you into the story. Julie Whitaker is thirteen when she is kidnapped by knife point from her bedroom in the middle of the night. Her sister, Jane, is powerless and she has to live with the guilt that she didn’t do more to save her sister that night. Eight years later and Julie’s family are still searching for her but they are stunned when one night the doorbell rings, Julie has come home. But is everything as it seems and when Julie’s mother, Anna begins to have doubts she fights to find out what is really going on. But is she prepared to find out what really happened the night her daughter disappeared?

What I really liked about Amy Gentry’s writing is its addictive quality. Amy knows how to hook her reader. There are some scenes in the novel, however, which I did find confusing. Amy tells the story from different perspectives, it was difficult to tell how these scenes connected to the story at first and occasionally I did have to go back and re read a few paragraphs so I could make sense of what was happening but as the plot unravels everything did begin to pull together.

Amy has created some intriguing characters in this book. As I started reading I wanted to find out more about Julie and her sister Jane, what would their relationship be like now that Julie has come back and how this would affect their family.

A really enjoyable read, perfect for fans of Helen Callaghan’s Dear Amy and the BBC Drama The Missing. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy to read in exchange for a review. 

Publisher: HQ

Publication date: 6th April 2017

Print length: 384 pages


No comments:

Post a Comment