Wednesday, 17 May 2017

Friend Request by Laura Marshall Book Review



BLURB

When Louise Williams receives a message from someone left long in the past she feels sick.

Maria Weston wants to be friends on Facebook. 

Because Maria Weston has been missing for over twenty years. She was last seen the night of a school leavers' party, and the world believes her to be dead. Particularly Louise, who has lived her adult life knowing herself responsible for Maria's disappearance. But now Maria is back. Or is she?

As Maria's messages start to escalate, Louise forces herself to reconnect with the old friends she once tried so hard to impress, to try to piece together exactly what happened that fateful night. But when another friend's body turns up in the woods outside their old school, Louise realises she can't trust anyone and that she must confront her own awful secret to discover the whole truth of what happened to Maria . . .


MY THOUGHTS

Friend Request by Laura Marshall has an intriguing premise: Louise Williams receives a friend request on Facebook from a girl she hasn't seen for twenty five years. But the girl is supposed to be dead, isn't she?

Wow, this was a really good read. I loved the idea behind it and I couldn't wait to start reading. You won't be disappointed by this one. I'm sure this is going to be one of THE thrillers of 2017.

Friend Request is told over two timelines. In 1989 and in the present day. In 1989 Louise is hovering on the outskirts of the popular crowd at school, she feels particularly attached to one girl, Sophie, who she is willing to do anything for to impress. In the present, Louise is a single mum to four year old, Henry. She is still trying to rebuild her life after she split from her husband, Sam. But she has never been able to forgive herself for something that she did when she was at school. And now the past is coming back to haunt her.

I really liked Laura's writing in this book. It is her debut novel and I'm sure that it'll go on to be a big hit. Her writing definitely has that addictive quality that will keep you reading well into the night. The book opens with lots of questions for the reader as a good book should: what did Louise do? What happened to Maria? Is she still alive or is this someone's idea of a sick joke? I couldn't wait to find out who was behind the messages and the twist at the end really did shock me.

Friend Request is perfect for fans of Camilla Way's Watching Edie and Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas. A really good novel, you won't be disappointed with this one. Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a copy to read.


Publisher: Sphere

Publication date: 27th July 2017

Print length: 384 pages


CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE 

1 comment:

  1. Ooh I really like the sound of this. Great review, thanks.

    ReplyDelete